Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


The ratings:
5 stars  excellent
4 stars  very good
3 stars  good
2 stars  fair
1 stars  poor

Blog stats:

Navigate the site:

Books by the Blogger:

THE BATTLE OF ARGINUSAE :
VICTORY AT SEA AND ITS TRAGIC AFTERMATH IN THE FINAL YEARS OF THE PELOPONNESIAN WAR
By Debra Hamel


Kindle | paperback (US)
Kindle | paperback (UK)

KILLING ERATOSTHENES:
A TRUE CRIME STORY
FROM ANCIENT ATHENS
By Debra Hamel


Kindle | paperback (US)
Kindle | paperback (UK)

READING HERODOTUS:
A GUIDED TOUR THROUGH THE WILD BOARS, DANCING SUITORS, AND CRAZY TYRANTS OF THE HISTORY
By Debra Hamel


paperback | Kindle | hardcover (US)
paperback | hardcover (UK)

THE MUTILATION OF THE HERMS:
UNPACKING AN ANCIENT MYSTERY
By Debra Hamel


Kindle | paperback (US)
Kindle | paperback (UK)

TRYING NEAIRA:
THE TRUE STORY OF A COURTESAN'S SCANDALOUS LIFE IN ANCIENT GREECE
By Debra Hamel


paperback | hardcover (US)
paperback | hardcover (UK)

PRISONERS OF THE PELOPONNESIAN WAR
By Debra Hamel


Kindle (US) | Kindle (UK)

SOCRATES AT WAR:
THE MILITARY HEROICS OF AN ICONIC INTELLECTUAL
By Debra Hamel


Kindle (US) | Kindle (UK)

ANCIENT GREEKS IN DRAG:
THE LIBERATION OF THEBES AND OTHER ACTS OF HEROIC TRANSVESTISM
By Debra Hamel


Kindle (US) | Kindle (UK)

IT WAS A DARK AND STORMY TWEET:
FIVE HUNDRED 1ST LINES IN 140 CHARACTERS OR LESS
By Debra Hamel


Kindle | paperback (US)
Kindle | paperback (UK)

Advertise: Rates & stats

Authors & publishers:
I've decided to stop accepting review copies. The downside of getting buried in free books is that reading increasingly becomes an obligatory act. After some seven years of blogging books, it's time for me to return to the simple pleasure of reading only the books I want to read, when I want to read them.



  
From a random review:

  

« Collins, Paul: Sixpence House | Main | Hoffman, Paul: Wings of Madness »

Moore, Christopher: Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story

  

Printer-friendly page! Use print preview to see how this page will appear.

Perennial © 1996, 304 pages [amazon]
4 stars

I confess I had never thought to wonder about the difficulties that might ensue were I to wake up of an...evening and find that I had been turned into a vampire. But the logistical problems alone are considerable. You can't keep your day job. And you'll need a minion to take care of certain errands for you, like going to the bank or hunting for a new apartment with a windowless bedroom. Meanwhile, your inhumanly acute senses are picking up the sound of gnats whirring around down the block, and you don't even know how to be undead. Can Anne Rice's word on matters vampirish be taken as gospel?

Tommy will do just about anything for Jody, short of eating bugs, and that includes tolerating--indeed bonding with--a dead guy in their freezer.Twenty-six-year-old, red-headed Jody, the protagonist of Christopher Moore's romantic comedy Bloodsucking Fiends, finds herself in this predicament after being attacked one night on her way home from work. She wakes up under a dumpster with her left hand burnt to a crisp and perhaps a  hundred thousand dollars tucked inside her blouse. ("A man attacked me, choked me, bit my neck, burned my hand, then stuffed my shirt full of money and put a dumpster on me and now I can see heat and hear fog. I've won Satan's lottery.") But unlike most fledgling vampires, Jody adapts well to her new situation. She finds a minion right off the bat, a nineteen-year-old would-be writer who's just moved to San Francisco from Indiana. Tommy will do just about anything for Jody, short of eating bugs, and that includes tolerating--indeed bonding with--a dead guy in their freezer. Soon Jody's hanging from the ceiling of their shared bedroom, reading Kerouac aloud in a post-coital, vampiric display. She and Tommy have lucked into an improbable love connection, but their relationship is not without its problems: Jody's mother doesn't approve of Tommy, for one thing, and blood-drained corpses keep turning up in the neighborhood....

Bloodsucking Fiends abounds in clever dialogue and dark humor. Fans of Douglas Adams or Tom Robbins, and indeed of Buffy the Vampire Slayer at its campiest, will enjoy this fast-paced, fun read.

Tags: , , ,

< Tweet it! | Reblog
https://www.book-blog.com/2003/07/bloodsucking_fi.html
Book-blog.com reviews by Debra Hamel are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution - Noncommercial - No Derivative Works 3.0 License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/).

Comments




Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this weblog until the author has approved them.

If you have a TypeKey or TypePad account, please Sign In


About the blogger: Debra is the mother of two preternaturally attractive girls and the author of a number of books about ancient Greece, including Trying Neaira: The True Story of a Courtesan's Scandalous Life in Ancient Greece. She writes and blogs from her subterranean lair in North Haven, CT. Read more.

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  






The Sunday Salon.com



Book-blog.com by Debra Hamel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution - Noncommercial - No Derivative Works 3.0 License.